What I’m Thankful For

November 28, 2008

Just to keep up my grueling 1 post/month schedule, here’s what I am thankful for:

I’m thankful for a lot of things, but mostly I’m thankful for the people who touch my life.  I am a terrible introvert, and so I am forever grateful to those who go out of their way to involve me.  To those kind souls who make me a part of your life – thank you so very much.  You are all that stands between me and my demons, and without you I would be forever lost.

Similarly, I am thankful for the hardships that we are facing, both here in America and across the globe.  It may seem cruel to be thankful for that which hurts us, but I think that hardship forges stronger people, and this world is in desperate need of strong and united people.  We need constant reminding of our common needs and challenges to keep us working together.  Though the coming days will be hard on us all, our paths lead us together, toward a cooperative global society.

I am thankful for these opportunities to grow as a person, and as a citizen of the world.  It is said that hard times bring out the best in everyone, and after so long in the darkness, we all need something to pull us out of our isolated lives,  I hope that my time in the Peace Corps will allow my perspective on the world to grow ever broader, and my knowledge and experience to make leaps and bounds as well.  I am thankful for this opportunity to challenge myself, my beliefs, and my preconceptions about the world.

I am thankful for the ones I love, and the ones who love me back.  Without you all, I’d never survive.  To that one, whose name I hold back only out of respect for your privacy, I love you with all my heart, and I always will.  Though we now must part, our paths will cross again, and I’ll hold you in my arms again one day.

So happy Thanksgiving, to one and all, and do try to look out for those less fortunate in the holiday season.

Leave a Reply

